All-Stars announced for 42nd Annual Lions Club Classic

 Lion s Club All Star Classic promo graphic 2021 homeslide

INA, Ill. (May 17, 2021)– The 42nd Annual Benton Lions Club All-Star Basketball Classic returns this summer on Friday, June 4, on the hardwood at Rend Lake College’s James “Hummer” Waugh Gymnasium.

The girls’ game tips off first at 6 p.m., followed by the boys’ game at 8 p.m. Players have been invited to participate. Doors open at 5:30 p.m.

The boys’ head coaches will be Brad Norman of Chester High School and Curt Reed of Thompsonville High School. Johnny Hollis of Sesser-Valier High School and Todd Rogers of Carterville High School will coach the girls’ teams.

The event features some of the best players in boys’ and girls’ high school basketball from the area. The price for admission is $5. A dunk contest will take place between the games as well as a three-point shoot-out during the halftime of each contest. MVP awards will also be presented at the conclusion of each game.

This year’s players include:


·        Anna–Jonesboro:  Anna Hess, Jaley Watkins  

·        Benton: Addisyn Miller                                                                      

·        Cairo: Daisha Carthell  

·        Carbondale: Faith Halliday             

·        Carterville: Averi Vanderzille 

·        Centralia: Natalie Edson  

·        Century: Mady Dillow 

·        Chester: Reese Chandler  

·        DuQuoin: Delaynie Dearmond 

·        Eldorado: Lexi Mitchell  

·        Fairfield: Colbie Sutton, Leah Bowers  

·        Galatia: Kate Bond                                                                  

·        Goreville: Katie Benard 

·        Hamilton County: Kaelee Karcher  

·        Harrisburg: Lauryn Gribble 

·        Herrin: Kelby Weber, Layla Wade 

·        Marion: Maegan Dillon 

·        Massac: Cali McCraw, Farrah Castleman  

·        Murphysboro: Bridgett Clover                                                                                            

·        Okawville: Chloe Kraus, Sevanah Hackstadt 

·        Salem: Chloe Harness, Ellie Bunnell, and Malia Harris 

·        Sesser: Ella Zahm  

·        Trico: Sam Cotton  

·        Vienna: Addison Bent, Emma Rush, Emma Treat   

·        Wayne City: Jocelyn Hall  

·        Webber Township: Abby Hulbert 

·        West Frankfort: Lexi McLaren 

·        Woodlawn: Cheyenne Bailey, Macy Williams 



·        Agape Christian High School: Jonathon Daley, Nathan Kaufman                          

·        Anna-Jonesboro: Carver Thorpe 

·        Benton: Reece Johnson, Jacob Seidel, Wyatt McClintock

·        Cairo: Isaiah Brown

·        Carbondale: Darius Ragland, Jarvis Allison                                 

·        Carlyle: Quinten Jones

·        Carmi White County: Devin Rankin, Peyton Edwards

·        Carterville: Eli Downen 

·        Century: Tyler Lang Sr. 

·        Chester: Jordan Hughes

·        Christ Our Rock: Sam Britt 

·        Christopher: Kye Garver, Peyton Mazur 

·        Cobden: Noah Franklin 

·        Crab Orchard: Noah Herring 

·        DuQuoin: Wade Roberson 

·        Eldorado: Aiden Whitlock, Bryant Byrd 

·        Fairfield: Landon Zurliene

·        Gallatin County: Gunner Wilson

·        Goreville: Kanon Webb, Chase Quigley 

·        Grayville: Brayden Hatcher

·        Hamilton County: Grady Lueke 

·        Hardin County: Calen Banks

·        Herrin: Billy Braid

·        Johnston City: Braden Watts

·        Joppa: Mason Dean

·        Marion: Jordan Cook 

·        Massac County: JJ Sweat, Kyler McIntosh

·        Meridian: Zander Kaufman, Ta’Kevon Williford

·        Mt. Vernon: Dylan Harkins, Quani Rudd, Carson Prost, Evan Leake 

·        Murphysboro: JaQuan Jackson

·        Nashville: (Buzz) Camden Ritzel, Jaxon Goforth

·        NCOE: Joe Melton, Ty Money

·        Odin: Keegan Parrish

·        Okawville: Jackson Harre, Lucas Frederking, Mason Meyer, Caleb Unverfehrt

·        Olney: Braden Flanagan

·        Pinckneyville: Dre Scott 

·        Salem: Haddon Lybarger

·        Sesser-Valier:Jake Newbury, Garret Gunter

·        Thompsonville: Grady Furlow

·        Waltonville: CJ Griffith

·        Wayne City: Noah Cooper

·        Webber Township: Aiden Buchanon

·        Woodlawn:Jackson Tiemann, Hunter England, Hayden England

·        Zeigler Royalton: Gannon Dollins, Rick Chekevdia

There will be a mandatory practice on Tuesday, June 1, at 6 p.m. for all athletes planning to participate. Souvenir T-shirts and programs will be for sale at the game. A concession stand will also be available.

Proceeds will go to the charitable endeavors of the Lion’s Club. For more information, please contact Dave Severin at 618-435-5555.

Search RLC News Articles

1098T online promo sq

Walk-In & Zoom-In Advisement Appointments for Spring 2022