FAQ & Links

What is the Higher Learning Commission?

The Higher Learning Commission is the regional accrediting organization for degree-granting institutions incorporated in Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, West Virgina, Wisconsin, Wyoming, or federally authorized sovereign nations that are authorized (licensed) by the same state or nation to award higher degrees (associate, baccalaureate, master's, first professional and / or doctoral degrees (both research and professional)). (2012) As stated on the Council for Higher Education Accreditation website.

Why is accreditation important?

The Higher Learning Commission is responsible for assuring that colleges and universities in its area meet set standards defined by the five Criteria for Accreditation. Accreditation is an assurance to the public that an institution is doing its job properly. Accreditation lends respect to Rend Lake College’s degrees and certificates, facilitates the transfer of credits to other institutions and affords the college’s access to financial aid and various funding opportunities.

How long has RLC been accredited by HLC?

Rend Lake College has been accredited by the Higher Learning Commission since 1969.

Helpful Links

Higher Learning Commission

U.S. Department of Education

Council on Higher Education Accreditation

Giving Now is More important than ever.

mental health resources

Higher Learning Commission